Calling for an International Non-Binary Gender Day

Posted: March 8, 2012 by Katje in Gender, Politics
Tags: , , , , ,

Well, why not?

Women have their day. Men have theirs too, now, apparently. And we non-binary folk are still left in the dust.

It’s not asking for much. It’s asking for a day once a year that focuses on non-binary folks, our contributions to the world, and our issues, without lumping us in with men or women. I’m so tired of things being applied to me because I have a uterus, all in the name of sisterhood. Isn’t feminism supposed to be stopping the reduction of women to their uteri?

Apparently not when it comes to non-binary folk.

One day. That’s all I want. How about July 14th? It’s precisely in the middle between International Men’s Day and International Women’s day. It’s a nice month. Numerologically it’s a 3, which is an appropriate number, I think, for us non-binary folk.

International Non-Binary Gender Day, July 14th.

There. Called for. Declared.

Who’s with me?

-TFF

Comments
  1. The Spinner says:

    Reblogged this on Innocence and Immanence and commented:
    This is a post I wrote for one of my other blogs; however, I wished to put the same sentiment here, on I&I.

  2. calleaghn says:

    Sooooooo with you! How can I help? πŸ™‚

    I’m gonna start by posting this to my social networking sites…..

    • Katje says:

      That’s a great start! πŸ™‚

      Hmm, let’s see….I guess a flier would be good, along with a short handout about non-binary identities and issues. Maybe some sort of forum for discussing non-binary issues, too. And IWD and IMD seem to have yearly themes, so that’s an idea too. A website/blog dedicated to it wouldn’t be a half-bad idea, either.

      I’d be pleased as punch if other people took this and ran with it; I have a few ideas, but I’m only one femme. πŸ˜‰

  3. caseyderyn says:

    Totally in support of this, but I’d rephrase ‘non-binary gender’ as not all non-binary people identify as gendered.

  4. Unfortunately this is already Bastille day…
    Support this wholly, but the date may need reconsideration

  5. Birdy says:

    With you, all the way from Australia

Leave a Reply

